Go Back   Ryzom > English speaking community > Newcomer Welcome Board
Ryzom News FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old August 2nd, 2007, 03:54 PM   #1
tylertoo

Soloing in an MMO

I enjoyed reading this thread in the general forum, a debate about soloing vs joining a guild or groups:

http://forums.ryzom.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30429

But I don't have rights to post there yet so here's my question: what is the point of soloing in an MMO? I don't ask this critically, I truly am just curious. If you want to solo exclusively, would it not be the same as a single player RPG like Oblivion?

Again, I am not trying to make a point. I'm a newb to MMOs in general and, as I said, am merely curious.

Is it that those who solo still partake in social parts of an MMO but hunt and quest on their own?
tylertoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2007, 04:14 PM   #2
ajsuk

Re: Soloing in an MMO

It's a mix of things really.

Some people may play as by your example, or sometimes people might just feel like being by themselves one minute and in a group the next.

I think it just comes down to peoples individual preferences. I like being able to do either depending on my mood and it's nice to still be able to progress in the same game no matter what I decide.
Jeweler
| Master Heavy Range Weaponsmith
[ Leader | Reapers of the Dark ]
[ Matis Noble | Karavaneer | Wayfarer | Arispotle ]
[ Gear Requirements | Server Status | Acronyms | Atys Time | Fireworks ]
ajsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2007, 06:27 PM   #3
katriell

In most MMOs, I'd prefer to solo because many of the players in larger communities are...not worth interacting with. But in Ryzom, everyone is so friendly, coherent, and generally awesome that most of the group experiences I've had here have been pleasant.

ï = ALT+0239 | advice for mission design | Zoraï masks
long-distance communication | some foods and drinks | Zoraï pictograms