Go Back   Ryzom > English speaking community > General
Ryzom News FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old October 7th, 2009, 02:40 PM   #1
ishark

New player, long comment.....

Ok, since the thread on DP, I think that you could use some more flamefest material.... ops, sorry I meant constructive comments from a new player. I have no idea if my character name shows up on the forum, in case it doesn't I'll let you guess who I am (it's not that hard ).

I've been playing for the last two months, on/off, since this is one of the two MMO I play at this time, and I tend to spend time in the other as well.

Not to sound nasty, but reading at that DP thread I get the feeling that a lot of old-timers are emotional about the game, and are completely incapable of imagining what a new player arriving on Atys sees.
I'll split in two parts: first impact, i.e. what you think about the game after 60 mins, and second impact, i.e. what you think after 60 days.
You may not like what you read, so continue at your own risk

FIRST IMPACT

The game is old. 5 years in internet time is long, and it shows. The character's running animation is horribly bad (it looks like it has a pole stuck up his.... let's say back ). (BTW this is a weird contrast to the amount of emote animations, which tend to be a lot better). It also feels very 2D, no way to jump over a small fence, no way to fall down a cliff, no way to bang the head against a wall. Considering the state of the current 3D engines, this looks VERY bad, and I wouldn't be surprised that you lose 50% of the people who connect "just to try" in this stage.
Don't answer "yes but ....blah blah... is so beautiful". I know, it's true, chances are I even saw it. But that 50% of people who leave on the spot don't and won't.

This is a problem not easily solved, unless massive money is available to replace the graphics engine.